March 19, 2013

posted by casey on 2013.03.16, under Music

Davu Seru, Charles Gillett & Jaron Childs

Aerosol Pike
Philip Mann
Ryan Reber
Rick Ness

Adam Patterson, Lisa Mcgrath & Kevin Cosgrove


June 26, 2012 – Insidesmusic CD-Release of “Free Improvisation Twin Cities, MN”

posted by casey on 2012.06.22, under Music

Insidesmusic “Free Improv Twin Cities” compilation
CD-Release w/ liner notes by Milo Fine

(last to first)

George Cartwright and Davu Seru
Joseph Damman, Elaine Evans, Kevin Cosgrove
Jaron Childs and Charles Gillett
Scott Newell and Viv Corringham
Milo Fine: liner note recitation (in between sets)

7 PM


August 16, 2011

posted by casey on 2011.08.13, under Music

Montgomery Ward
Patrick “Trout” Lein & Steve Earnest
(guitar, electronics, percussion)


Aerosol Pike
Philip Mann – bass clarinet, alto & tenor saxophones
Rick Ness – alto saxophone, B flat clarinet, multi-toned tenor marching bugle & percussion
Ryan Reber – cello & soprano saxophone


August 3, 2010

posted by casey on 2010.07.31, under Music

Aerosol Pike
Philip Mann (alto & tenor saxes, bass clarinet, percussion)
Ryan Reber (soprano sax, cello)
Rick Ness (alto sax, B flat clarinet, multi-toned tenor bugle, percussion)

Charles Gillett & Mike Hallenbeck

Bryce Beverlin II & Jacob Felix Heule (San Francisco, CA)

Jacob Felix Heule is a drummer and electronic musician whose music directly expresses sonic texture and timbre through the discipline of free improvisation.
Spanning extremes of physicality and intensity, stasis and restraint, his music follows from the traditions of electro-acoustic improv and noise.

In 2004 he founded the acoustic grind duo, Ettrick, with both members playing both drums and saxophones in a style often described as a hybrid of free jazz and black metal.

Heule has worked extensively with double bassist Tony Dryer since 2006, exploring heavy electronics as Basshaters since 2008. Their textural acoustic improv trio
with clarinetist Jacob Lindsay released its debut album, Idea of West, on Creative Sources in 2008. Heule and Dryer also have a trio CD with saxophonist Jack Wright,
and have performed live with diverse musicians such as Michel Doneda, C Spencer Yeh, Gino Robair, and Damon Smith.


May 11, 2010

posted by casey on 2010.05.06, under Music

Edward Schneider (alto saxophone)
Erkki Huovinen (guitar, woodwinds)
Scott Currie (alto/bari saxophone)

Aerosol Pike
Philip Mann (alto & tenor saxophones, bass clarinet, percussion)
Rick Ness (percussion, alto saxophone, multi-toned marching bugle, clarinet)
Ryan Reber (soprano saxophone, amplified cello)

Bill Lang (saxaphone)
Alden Ikeda (percussion)
Brock Thorson (bass)


January 5, 2010

posted by casey on 2010.02.28, under Music

Ryan Reber: soprano sax
Milo Fine: B flat clarinet
Elaine Evans: acoustic violin

Aerosol Pike + 5
Philip Mann: alto sax, bass clarinet, drum set
Ryan Reber: soprano sax
Rick Ness: drum set, B flat clarinet, alto sax, multi-toned tenor marching bugle
Milo Fine: marimba, B flat clarinet
Davu Seru: amplified cello
Charles Gillett: guitar
Stefan Kac: tuba
Elaine Evans: amplified violin, pocket trumpet


September 22, 2009

posted by casey on 2010.02.28, under Music

Aerosol Pike (Philip Mann, Rick Ness, Ryan Reber)


Kathy McTavish (Duluth, MN)


January 13, 2009

posted by casey on 2010.02.02, under Music

Aerosol Pike (horns and percussion trio)

Alexandra St-Germain (solo cello)

(Alex was out sick for this show, but Andrew Broder filled her spot on short notice)

Jaron Childs (solo sax)